Research awards for Physics students

Aim

The Nicolás Cabrera Institute (INC) calls for 11 awards provided by the Department of <u>Materials Physics</u> (3 awards), the <u>Condensed Matter Physics Center</u> IFIMAC (2 awards) and the Departments of <u>Condensed Matter</u> <u>Physics</u>, <u>Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics</u> and <u>Applied Physics</u> (2 awards each), for research works performed by undergraduate students of Physics.

Students will present their work during the Young Researchers Meeting of the INC to be held in December 2023.

Eligible students

- Physics students with excellent marks, who are now completing third year in Physics.
- Students must have chosen their tutors and the subject of their work.
- The performed work should be different than previous work by the student (for example, work made for the Physics undergraduate studies), but it can be a continuation of previous work, and the student may choose the same responsible scientist.

Students will present

• A poster during the Young Researchers Meeting of the INC. The language of the meeting is English.

Applications

The candidates should send their application to inc@uam.es before 12 June 2023. In their email, they should provide their Name and surnames, the Department, Tutor, Subject of their choice and a copy of their marks (expediente académico).

Awards

11 awards amounting to 1.600 € (including taxes).

Important dates

- 12 June 2023. Application deadline.
- 15 June 2023. Selection of 11 awardees (notified by email).
- October 2023. Payment of the award.
- December 2023. Presentation of the work and delivery of the diplomas.
- Work should start on 15 June 2023 and end by 20 December 2023.

Committee

The selection committee will have 5 members, one per Department and one member of the INC, chosen by the respective Departments and the INC. At least 2 members will belong to IFIMAC.

Selection criteria

The applications will be ranked following the applicants marks (expediente académico).

There will be at least two awardees per participating Department and IFIMAC, and three awardees at Materials Physics.

